October 2018

Bachelorette of the Year 2018 Nominee, Lori Martin

Author: Special to CH2 | Photographer: M.Kat Photography

Lori Martin
Age: 54
Occupation Recruiter/employment manager for National Healthcare Company
Hometown: Fairfax, SC

First thing you do every morning?
Pray and workout

What is something unusual about you?
I started competing in triathlons when I was 44 and haven’t stopped since!

Who in your life do you trust the most?
My Daughter.

What are you afraid of?
Letting my daughter down; and sometimes cockroaches- I spray them with Windex.

What motivates you?
To be healthy, fit and a good role model for my daughter.

If you could switch places with anyone for a day who would it be?
My daughter- would love to see things from her perspective plus she is so smart!

If you could leave right now, where would you go?
The Bahamas.

Where is your favorite spot in Hilton Head or Bluffton?
The beach- sand, sun, sea, salt, crashing waves & breeze and I’m relaxed and happy.

Do you have a favorite holiday tradition?
Christmas with my family- candlelight service on Christmas Ev, followed by Christmas Day with my entire family together at my parent’s house. But I also love sunrise service on the beach on Easter Sunday

Would money buy you happiness?
No. Has it ever bought anyone happiness? True happiness comes from being at peace with GOD.

What are two of your strengths?
I’m very resilient and self-motivated.

Person you most look up to.
My mother- she is the most selfless, giving and loving person I know. Even though Parkinson’s and other heath issues, she never complains and remains focused on others!

How do you spend your free time?
Swimming, biking, running- or training for triathlons or any other form of working out; with my family and friends; or relaxing on the beach.

Are you spiritual or religious? If so, how?
Yes, I am a Christian, I have belonged to the First Baptist church on HHI (South Forest Beach) since I’ve lived here.

Do you have a pet? If so, what kind and name?
No pets- my daughter would love to have one but I am a clean freak.

Cat or Dog? Dog
Heels or Flats? Heels
Cook or Eat out? Cook

What is your drink of choice?
Water- I know!

Give us three words your friends might use to describe you?
Energetic, Caring/Thoughtful and Family-oriented.

What would you say your greatest accomplishment thus far is?
Being a single mom of my daughter and balancing work, family, workouts, and life in general.

Would you say you are a leader or a follower?
Leader- no question!

There is a mandatory evacuation for the Lowcountry- what do you not leave home without?
Important documents and pictures. Of course- my daughter!

Favorite local bar or restaurant.
Fish Camp and Coco’s- out of the way and on the water!

Charity you would like to play for:
American Heart Association

Why does this charity mean so much to you?
Many of my family members have experienced heart problems and I myself was born with a septal defect and mitral valve prolapse prolapse. My mother suffers issues currently, my three-year old nephew passed away 30+ years ago from a birth defect to the heart. It’s near and dear to my heart to see continued research.

Let Us Know what You Think ...

commenting closed for this article