October 2018

Bachelorette of the Year 2018 Nominee, Sondra Makowski

Author: Special to CH2 | Photographer: M.Kat Photography

Sondra Makowski
Age: 31
Occupation: Co-owner of Driftwood Stable, Horseback Riding Instructor and Trainer
Hometown: Atlanta, GA

First thing you do every morning?
Make a cup of coffee or tea, grab a protein bar, then head out the door through the backyard to go feed 25+ horses.

What is something unusual about you?
I was born on Friday the 13th.

Who in your life do you trust the most?
I trust my sisters the most. We have been through so much together. i know i can always count on them to be a friend to laugh with or a shoulder to cry on.

What are you afraid of?

What motivates you?
Watching my business grow and being able to teach the next generation of kids who share my love of horses.

If you could switch places with anyone for a day who would it be?
An olympic level tier so i can see what it is like at the peak of my profession.

If you could leave right now, where would you go?
I would like to go to Europe to investigate the origins of my heritage.

Where is your favorite spot in Hilton Head or Bluffton?
The beach- when i actually have time to get there, something about the ocean is very therapeutic.

Do you have a favorite holiday tradition?
Baking and decorating cookies with my family has been a favorite holiday tradition for many years, and one i hope to pass on when i start my own family.

Would money buy you happiness?
Money wouldn’t buy me happiness, but it could buy horses which makes me happier than anything else.

What are two of your strengths?
Ambitious and passionate.

Person you most look up to.
My mom, because of the way she deals with everything in her life. she is well-respected, well-liked by everyone, kind, generous, and on top of things. Even in hard times, she is honestly a superwoman. I don’t know how she does it all, but i hope top emulate these great qualities.

How do you spend your free time?
I usually spend my free time taking my dog “Mikey” for a walk or going to the beach to catch some sun.

Are you spiritual or religious? If so, how?
I was raised Catholic and consider myself to be spiritual. I believe in the power of positive thinking and karma.

Do you have a pet? If so, what kind and name?
I have 2 horses- “Aviatrix” and “Goldwyn” and a miniature pinscher, “Mikey”

Cat or Dog? Dog
Heels or Flats? Heels
Cook or Eat Out? Eat Out

What is your drink of choice?
A cold glass of rose.

Give us three words your friends might use to describe you?
Vibrant, Upbeat, and compassionate.

What would you say your greatest accomplishment thus far is?
Moving 900 miles to start my own business and follow my dream.

Would you say you are a leader or a follower?
I consider myself a leader

There is a mandatory evacuation for the Lowcountry- what do you not leave home without?
If that’s the case, then I’ve already left 3 days earlier with the 25+ horses I’m responsible for. But slow would leave my photographs, jewelry and my dog.

Favorite local bar or restaurant.
Holy Tequila or Boathouse.

Charity you would like to play for:
Second Wind Thoroughbred Project

Why does this charity mean so much to you?
Giving retired racehorses another chance to have a loving home means a lot to me because everyone deserves a second chance at the life they’re always wanted.

Let Us Know what You Think ...

commenting closed for this article