October 2018

Bachelorette of the Year 2018 Nominee, Kris Kaser

Author: Special to CH2 | Photographer: M.Kat Photography

Kris Kaser
Age: 31
Occupation: Manager with the Salty Dog company
Home Town: Bloomington, IN

First thing you do every morning?
Coffee. Always coffee. Haha. Then I like to sit down with my journal, addressing my plan and aspirations for the day ahead. It starts my day off on the right foot.

What is something unusual about you?
Um… I like to play and sing old hip hop songs with my ukulele.

Who in your life do you trust the most?
My dad. He’s the most honest, logical and consistent man I’ve ever known.

What are you afraid of?
I’m afraid of one day losing my family. They are what’s most important to me.

What motivates you?
My two sons; Johnny and Max. They are forever my motivation.

If you could switch places with anyone for a day who would it be?
This may be cheating a bit, but my two sons… I think it would better help me understand them and better help me know what they need from me as a parent to thrive.

If you could leave right now, where would you go?
Bali… ask anyone I know and they will tell you I’m obsessed.

Where is your favorite spot in Hilton Head or Bluffton?
I love Old Town Bluffton. I can get a great cup of coffee from Corner Perk, get my kids’ back to school haircuts at Straight Edge, go get a great Sunday brunch and watch some of my favorite local musicians at Calhouns… and if my car ever got a flat there, I’d probably have everyone passing by ask if I needed a help. It’s just a beautiful sense of community.

Do you have a favorite holiday tradition?
I’m not a big holiday person, but I cannot resist a Frank Sinatra Christmas album.
Would money buy you happiness?
No. But having control over my own finances, what I make, what I save, what I donate, what I spend and where I spend it does give me a certain sense of empowerment that I truly love. And I feel a strong link between freedom and happiness.

What are two of your strengths?
I’m resilient and compassionate.

Person you most look up to.
My dad. He’s my rock.

How do you spend your free time?
Taking my kids on adventures. Getting lost in a new song and listening to it on repeat and then making everyone in my life listen to it on repeat. Trying to ‘wing it’ in cooking something entirely new while drinking wine in my kitchen.

Are you spiritual or religious? If so, how?
Love is my religion.

Do you have a pet?
That’s kind of a sensitive subject right now.

What is your drink of choice?
Depends entirely upon the day and the time of day.

Give us three words your friends might use to describe you?
Pretty. Hardworking. Strong. (These actually came from my 9 year old… I’ll pick ‘strong’)

What would you say your greatest accomplishment thus far is?
Finally being able to say with complete honesty that I love myself.

Would you say you are a leader or a follower?
I would say I’m a leader, but I spent many years as a follower.

There is a mandatory evacuation for the Lowcountry- what do you not leave home without?
My loved ones, some books and snacks… always have to have snacks close by.

Favorite local bar or restaurant.
Salty Dog. I know it may sound cheesy, but I truly love my job and the company I work for. It’s a local staple.

Charity you would like to play for:
No More.

Why does this charity mean so much to you?
Sometimes people will ask me my marital status. I’ll quickly say “I’m happily divorced” and often times I’ll get a funny look in response. But it’s true, I am happily divorced. because I once married an extremely abusive man. It’s been a long journey back to feely fully whole. Anything I can do to help anyone else out of that cage of fear and doubt… I will happily do it.


Let Us Know what You Think ...

commenting closed for this article