August 2018

Bachelorette of the Year 2018 Nominee, Mary Beth King

Author: Special to CH2 | Photographer: M.Kat Photography

Name: Mary Beth King
Age: 25
Occupation: Pharmacist
Home Town: Cincinnati, OH but lived in SC roughly 7 years.

First thing you do every morning?
I tell my Alexa to turn on my favorite radio station, so I can get ready for my day. I also make a cup of coffee.

What is something unusual about you?
I lived in Nome, Alaska for a bit while in pharmacy school. It was an eye-opening experience.

Who in your life do you trust the most?
My mother.

What are you afraid of?
I’m terrified of heights, but I love rollercoasters.

What motivates you?
Knowing all that my parents sacrificed for me to able to do what I do today. I want to make them proud.

If you could switch places with anyone for a day who would it be?
The late Anthony Bourdain. He had my dream job.

If you could leave right now, where would you go?

Where is your favorite spot in Hilton Head or Bluffton?
Burkes Beach. I also enjoy watching the sunset in Shelter Cove.

Do you have a favorite holiday tradition?
The day after Thanksgiving, my family and I go golfing, but the holes are pranked/rigged. We call it Greenkeeper’s Revenge.

Would money buy you happiness?
No. I’m happiest around the ones I love. But it could buy me a nice car!

What are two of your strengths?
I would say, I’m good at listening and finding the positive in any situation.

Person you most look up to.
My late grandfather. He was a WWII veteran and the wisest, most loving person I’ve even known. He always remained humble and was hard worker.

How do you spend your free time?
I spent a lot of my time going on nature trails around my plantation and the island. It bring me a sense of peace and calm.

Are you spiritual or religious?
I was raised going to church every Sunday. I definitely don’t go as much as I should.

Do you have a pet? If so, what kind and name?
I do not own my own, but my family has two dogs, Honey and Millie.

Cat or Dog? Dog
Heels or Flats? Heels
Cook or Eat out? Cook

What is your drink of choice?
Hendricks and Tonic.

Three words your friends might use to describe you.
Intelligent, Silly and Level-Headed.

What would you say is your greatest accomplishment this far is?
Becoming a doctor of pharmacy at the age of 23. Tough, but worth it!

Leader of Follower?
Depends on the situation, but more of a leader as I’ve gotten older.

There is a mandatory evacuation for the Lowcountry- what do you not leave home without?
My grandmother’s locket from when she was a child.

Favorite local bar or restaurant?
Sunset Grille- great food and amazing views!

Charity you would like to play for?
Programs for Exceptional People (PEP)

Why does this charity mean so much to you?
This charity provides independence and employment opportunities for people with special needs. Having members of my family with special needs, I think it’s amazing to be able to foster a sense of independence and provide/promote engagement in the community.

Let Us Know what You Think ...

commenting closed for this article